11th Hour of the 11th Day of the 11th Month of the 11th Year…Happy Veteran’s Day!

Even though I did not celebrate such a special Veteran’s/Armistice Day the way I would have liked, I did manage to do a little something today and drag a vet to one of the many restaurants whoch were kindly serving free meals to veterans on this day.

His choice was Applebee’s in Chatsworth. He wore his Marine vet hat and a USMC sweater. I wore my Absolute Marines t-shirt. On the way up to the place we encountered others wearing Marine jackets, shirts or hats. My friend exchanged cheerful remarks with others waiting who noticed his hat and shirt.

We arrived around 5:20 and the joint was already packed. The wait was said to be 1:15 hours.

My friend made the best of the time by greeting other vets, and I enjoyed watching them. I would say a small majority of the parties included at least one Marine. The next most common would be Army, then Navy. I believe I saw two USAFs. Perhaps more. It was nice to see that there were quite a few WWII vets in attendance!! Always so heartening to see them out and about! I’m very happy they got a free and high quality dinner tonight. I think these vets should always be offered a free meal. It’s the least they can do for them.

The wait was actually much shorter than they said it would be. The meal was brought to us promptly, and I splurged and ordered a Kahlua for myself as well as a meal. We had fun, and then some real laughs (or, more likely, giggles) occurred when a band of Marines – in dress uniforms waited outside. A few came in and stood by the bar. One of them bore a striking resemblance to a character in a war movie I’d seen recently. Possibly  “The Pacific”.

We did not take our time; we figured we should eat and leave so as to not make people wait any longer than they did.

On our way out, my friend was greeted with smiles and camaraderie from the rest of the young Marines still waiting outside. I leered at each one of them and smiled, and got bright-eyed looks & smiles right back.

Now THAT was a pleasure!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

